ODE&T logo

Annual Equal Employment Opportunity, Diversity and Leadership Conference


(information will be updated as material copies are received)


Unconscious Bias: It’s Bad for Everybody
Carol Taylor-Shim

Developing Your Leadership Plan
Developing Your Leadership Plan Workbook
Al Cornish

Conducting Workplace Investigations, from A-Z
Panel Discussion

Diversity/EEO Track

Intersectionality: Bridging the Identity Gap
Table of Diversity
Free Bridging the Identity Gap
Demetria Miles, CEO Decide Diversity

Avoiding Unconscious Bias in Hiring, Management and Promotions
Who is "THEY"
Marietta Watts, Office for Institutional Diversity, University of Kentucky

Mindfulness—Managing the Emotional Brain
Zack Culver, Personnel Cabinet

Substance Abuse in the Workplace: Impacts on Kentucky
Beth Kuhn, Cabinet for Health and Family Services, Office of the Secretary and Tena Robbins, CHFS Department for Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities

Mental Health Issues in the Workplace
Mental Health Issues at Work
Zack Culver & Donna Shelton, State ADA Coordinator KY Personnel Cabinet

HR/Leadership/Management Track

Trust Leaders: A Novel Way to Address Relationship Detoxification in Organizations
Tony Belak & J.R. Curtin, 4Civility Institute

Facilitated Networking: A How-To for Establishing Meaningful Connections for Professional Growth
Beth Cram, KY Personnel Cabinet Office of Diversity, Equality and Training

Becoming the Leader Your Team Wants to Follow (No Materials)
Asa James Swan, Chief of Staff KY Transportation Cabinet

Women in Leadership: Turning Authenticity into Impact
Cynthia Knapek, President, Leadership Louisville Center

Innovation and Motivation Drive Success (No Materials)
Heather Howell, Director of Emerging Brands, Brown-Forman Corporation

Legal Track

#MeToo: A Frank Discussion about Responding to Sexual Harassment in the Workplace
Mark Sipek, Exec Director KY Personnel Board, Matthew Barszcz, Dinsmore and Vanessa Rogers, Dinsmore

A Conversation on Due Process: The Public Servants Who Work for Us Must Use Procedures that Work for Us
Carmine Iaccarino, Public Protection Cabinet, Justin Walker, Univ. of Louisville School of Law, Robert Swisher, Commissioner, KY Department of Workers Claims

Equal Pay Act/Recent Developments in EEO Law
Courtney Samford, Wyatt, Tarrant and Combs

Ethical Implications/Professional Responsibility
Ethics Materials
Katie Gabhart, Exec Director Executive Branch Ethics Commission and Carmine Iaccarino, Exec Dir., Office of Legal Services, Public Protection Cabinet

Challenging Workplace Disability Scenarios
Jay Inman, Michael Hornback, and Sarah Laren, Littler Mendelson P.C.

Luncheon Keynote Address

James Fripp, Chief Diversity and Inclusion Officer, YUM! Brands

To complete Day One Breakout Workshops evaluation, click Workshop Evaluation.

To complete Day Two Breakout Workshops evaluation, click Workshop Evaluation.

To complete an Overall Conference evaluation, click EEO Conference Evaluation.



                 Opening Video                                               Luncheon Video                                                  Closing Video


Conference Pictures:

2018 EEO, Diversity and Leadership Conference Pictures


Held each fall, the annual Governor’s Equal Employment Opportunity (EEO), Diversity and Leadership Conference is one of the longest running conferences of its kind anywhere in the country. It has grown to promote and celebrate the diversity represented among employees and people of the Commonwealth, in addition to offering programming that focuses on equal employment opportunity, leadership development, contract compliance and human resources development, and other best practices in an informative and interactive way via keynote addresses, conference workshops and breakout sessions.

Other important piece of the annual event include an emphasis on the intersection of leadership, diversity, inclusion and equal opportunity for all. Ultimately, the conference itself, and the associated speakers, workshops and networking sessions focus on the ways all of these principles work together for the ultimate benefit of all people of the Commonwealth, regardless of personal or professional background. It is open to ALL.


The diversity of those represented, including the racial and geographic backgrounds, and the variety of companies, local and state agencies, job functions and experience represented is what makes this conference so unique and engaging.

Generally, attendees will include:

            • Local and state government employees (HR, EEO, various others from all branches of government)
            • Attorneys
            • Students
            • Mental Health, Human Resources and other practitioners
            • Members of the public, representatives of private sector employers and many others!


            • Dynamic, engaging and challenging speakers and presenters
            • Dedicated programming in ‘tracks’ or areas of interest including:
                  • Diversity/EEO
                  • Leadership/Management
                  • Law
            • World class, newly renovated facilities
            • HRCI (SHRM, IPMA), Mental Health and Continuing Legal Education (CLE) professional development credits will be offered for those in attendance
                  • Continuing Legal Education (CLE) credit will be applied for
                  • Programming is eligible for HRCI professional development credit for Human Resources professionals
                  • Mental Health credits are available
                  • All state government attendees will receive training and development credits on their training transcripts through Commonwealth University!
            • Networking opportunities with diverse attendees from a variety of professional backgrounds in both public and private sector employment

If you’re interested in receiving periodic updates about the 2019 EEO, Diversity and Leadership Conference or information about Office of Diversity, Equality, and Training professional development and programming opportunities, please add your name to our Interest List.

If you attended the 2018 EEO, Diversity and Leadership Conference, your name has already been added to our Interest List.