​​​​ Home > About Us > Executive Biographies

Executive Biographies

Secretary's Office 

​Gerina D. Whethers 
Cabinet Secretary
Kentucky Personnel Cabinet



Department of Employee Insurance

​ ​​​Jenny Goins, SPHR 

Jenny retired from the United States Air Force/Air National Guard as a Chief Master Sergeant after a 25-year career that included duties related to combat communications, public speaking, journalism, human resources and education. Her last 10 years in the Air Force were spent teaching leadership, supervision and communication skills to military leaders and managing the teaching staff. After military retirement, Jenny spent 10 years in the corporate world as both an organizational development manager and senior HR leader before joining the State. She also provides training and motivational presentations for various non-profit groups and corporations.
In 2015, Jenny was inducted into the Kentucky Military Hall of Fame. She has a Bachelor’s Degree in Organizational Management and a Master’s Degree in Adult Learning from Tusculum College, Greeneville, TN. She lives on the Kentucky River with her husband John.


Department of Human Resources Administration

Mary Elizabeth Bailey

Mary Elizabeth has worked in State Government, specifically in Human Resources, for more than 20 years. Throughout her career she has served on numerous committees and is a member of the National Association for State Personnel Executives, International Personnel Management Association, and Society for Human Resource Management. In her role as Commissioner, she oversees the administration of the Commonwealth's employment application process; state payroll functions; official personnel records for state employees; the state Classification and Compensation system; and the statewide Performance Management Program.  Ms. Bailey attended Kentucky Wesleyan College where she majored in Business Administration. She resides in Frankfort with her husband Todd Bailey and their three children.​


Alaina Myers
Deputy Commissioner

Alaina Myers is a human resources professional with over 13 years of experience, with the last 10 of those years in the Personnel Cabinet’s Department of Human Resources Administration. She is a member of the International Public Management Association for Human Resources (IPMA-HR) and currently serves on the Board of Directors for the Kentucky Chapter as President-Elect. Alaina graduated cum laude with a Bachelor of Science in Psychology from James Madison University. She is a Senior Certified Professional (IPMA-SCP), received her Certificate of Supervisory Essentials (CSE) and is a trained mediator with the Kentucky Employee Mediation Program (KEMP). In her role as Deputy Commissioner, Alaina oversees the administration of the statewide Performance Management Program, the DHRA Training Program and the Division of Career Opportunities. Alaina resides in Lexington with her husband Paul and their two daughters.


Kentucky Public Employees' Deferred Compensation Authority

Chris Biddle
Executive Director

Chris is an attorney with twenty years of administrative, regulatory, and civil litigation experience. Chris has been with the Authority for over 10 years and has served as the Authority’s chief legal officer and Executive Director during his tenure. In his current role as Executive Director, Chris oversees the daily business operation and compliance for the accounts of approximately 75,000 individuals with combined assets of $3 billion.


Office of Administrative Services

​Robbie S. Perkins 
IT Director
Division of Technology Services

Robbie brings more than 25 years of experience in information technology, accounting, and human resources with the last 14 of those years in service at the Personnel Cabinet. Robbie is a member of the International Public Management Association for Human Resources (IPMA-HR) and currently serves on the Board of Directors for the KY Chapter of IPMA-HR and is an past president. A native of Madison County, Robbie attended Eastern Kentucky University where he majored in accounting and received his Certified Public Manager (CPM) certification from GSC and now resides in Frankfort.


Office of Diversity and Equality

Tiffany Yeast
Executive Director

Tiffany Nneka Yeast currently serves as the Executive Director for the Office of Diversity, Equality and Training (ODET).  Mrs. Yeast has garnered immense knowledge and experience as a Human Resource professional having worked within and/or with six (6) Executive Branch Cabinets.  With her fifteen (15) years of experience Mrs. Yeast brings a vast understanding of governmental programs, organizational structures and needs with her to the Personnel Cabinet. As a HR executive she frequently worked with the ODET team promoting professional development and advocating for statewide diversity and inclusion. Prior to joining state government, Mrs. Yeast had a successful career in Athletic Compliance, serving as an Assistant Athletic Director for Kentucky State University, Shaw University and Eastern Kentucky University.  Mrs. Yeast holds two (2) degrees from Southeast Missouri State University (Masters of Science Administration –Criminal Justice Administration and Bachelor of Science, Criminal Justice (Social Rehabilitation).  She is married to Terence D. Yeast and has three (3) daughters, Trinity, Timberlynn and Teigh Yeast.


 Wes Swarner
 Deputy Executive Director

Wes is a graduate of the University of Louisville with a BS in Health Occupations Education. Prior to joining state government, he spent 21 years in the United States Army, retiring in 1999. His last eight years in service was dedicated to training both U.S. and Allied Forces in tactical operations and leadership. Wes has more than 35 years of experience in management training and employee development and has served in multiple positions within state government. Wes received his certification in Lean Production Systems from the University of Kentucky’s Center for Manufacturing. Originally from Beavercreek, Ohio, He resides in Versailles with his wife, Lisa.


Office of Legal Services

Rosemary Holbrook
Executive Director

Rosemary Holbrook is an attorney with a background in employment and administrative law. She is a graduate of the University of Pikeville and the University of Louisville School of Law. She obtained a Master’s of Science in Accounting from Marshall University. She is an attorney licensed by the Kentucky Bar Association and a Certified Public Accountant licensed by the Kentucky Board of Accountancy. She served six years of active duty in the United States Air Force as a Judge Advocate General (JAG) attorney. Her previous history in state government includes service as a County Attorney in Fayette County and service as a Staff Attorney for the Education and Workforce Development Cabinet. Rosemary previously served as Staff Attorney and Assistant General Counsel for the Personnel Cabinet.


Sharron Burton
Deputy Executive Director

Sharron received her Bachelor's degree in political science from the University of Kentucky in 1989, and in 1993, Sharron received her degree of Juris Doctor from the University of Louisville School of Law. In 1994, Sharron began her career in state government at the Department of Insurance where, over the course of 19 years, she served as legal counsel, chief market conduct examiner, General Counsel, and Director of the Health and Life Division. Sharron joined the Personnel Cabinet Office of Legal Services as the Deputy Executive Director in February 2013. In this position, Sharron serves as legal counsel for the Cabinet's branches and departments that provide a variety of employee benefits such as life insurance, employee assistance, and the Kentucky Employees' Health Plan (KEHP). In addition, Sharron serves as the HIPAA Privacy Officer for KEHP.  ​​