An Official Website of the Commonwealth of Kentucky

    Governor Govenor   
Skip Content
safety officer

​Executive Safety Advisory Committee (ESAC)


The Executive Safety Advisory Committee was created by Executive Order in June, 2005 to further develop and promote a workplace safety program designed to reduce the number of work-related accidents and illness.  One or more representatives from each major cabinet or agency of state government meet monthly to promote safety among state employees.

In order to promote the safety and health of all Commonwealth employees, the Executive Safety Advisory Committee created the ESAC Safety Award. This award recognizes cabinets, departments, divisions or the equivalent of the executive branch that achieve 12 months of work without experiencing a lost-time injury. The award is designed to support all programs that intend to reduce occupational injuries.

Safety awards are presented each June during National Safety Month.  Winning cabinets receive plaques acknowledging their commitment to planning, developing and promoting workplace safety and certificates are presented to departments, divisions and offices with no lost-time injuries.

For more information about the 2014 ESAC Awards, click here.

View photos from the 2014 ESAC Awards Ceremony here.

© Commonwealth of Kentucky. All rights reserved.