Ky.gov    

An Official Website of the Commonwealth of Kentucky

  
  
    Governor Govenor   
Skip Content
Lady with brief case. © Bowie15 | Dreamstime.com
Home > Holidays and Leave

State Holidays

Team members receive eleven and a half paid holidays each year, in addition to monthly sick, annual, compensatory leave, and a number of special leave options.

2015

          • Thursday, January 1, 2015 & Friday, January 2, 2015 - New Year's
          • Monday, January 19, 2015 - Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Birthday
          • One-half day, Friday, April 3, 2015 - Good Friday
          • Monday, May 25, 2015 - Memorial Day
          • Friday, July 3, 2015 - Independence Day
          • Monday, September 7, 2015 - Labor Day
          • Wednesday, November 11, 2015 - Veterans Day
          • Thursday & Friday, November 26-27, 2015 - Thanksgiving
          • Thursday & Friday, December 24-25, 2015 - Christmas
          • Thursday, December 31, 2015 & Friday, January 1, 2016 - New Year's

2016

          • Monday, January 18, 2016 - Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Birthday
          • One-half day, Friday, March 25, 2016 - Good Friday
          • Monday, May 30, 2016 - Memorial Day
          • Monday, July 4, 2016 - Independence Day
          • Monday, September 5, 2016 - Labor Day
          • Tuesday, November 8, 2016 - Presidential Election
          • Friday, November 11, 2016 - Veterans Day
          • Thursday & Friday, November 24-25, 2016 - Thanksgiving
          • Friday, December 23 & Monday, December 26, 2016 - Christmas
          • Friday, December 30, 2016 & Monday, January 2, 2017 - New Year's

Leave

State employees enjoy the benefit of many types of leave.  Leave can be paid or unpaid. Some examples of leave include: annual, sick, compensatory (also known as 'comp'), and even family medical leave.  Read more